Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: Unwanted Shadows on One Side of Vertical Fin  (Read 4529 times)

actionary

Unwanted Shadows on One Side of Vertical Fin
« on: October 28, 2016, 05:27:14 pm »

Hi all!

I model old Turkish-made aircraft for fun.

Nowadays I'm modeling an old flying-wing sailplane design, with an intent to import it to Outerra and make it flyable. I'd been going well for my standards, but today I ran into a problem that is driving me insane :)

There are weird shaped shadows on the inner sides of the two vertical-fins, although the outer sides are perfect (again, for my standards).

Here, you can see the shading on the inner side:

Here is the normal, outer side:

And this is a screenshot from blender render-view:

I can't really say that this is an Outerra-related problem, because I'm not a pro in modeling so I may well have made some modeling mistakes. The fin profile is NACA 4306, a somewhat complex profile to model for a hobbyist like me. However, having seen that the outer side renders fine in both Outerra and Blender, and having been unable to solve the problem no matter what I did, I felt that I should resort to the forum.

I'm using an AMD system with an HD7900 series GPU.

Thank you in advance.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2016, 05:32:14 pm by actionary »

necro

• google+ Blog
Re: Unwanted Shadows on One Side of Vertical Fin
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2016, 06:39:47 pm »

Its not an OT related problem. The problem are missing vertices. Could you post a screenshot of the wireframed mesh? Adding some loop cuts will solve the issue.

actionary

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2016, 06:47:48 pm »

Here you are, sir. But please know that this mesh became the mess it is now (triangles and missing edges, etc.) after I used Blender's clean-up tools to solve the problem.  :-[