Outerra forum

Anteworld - Outerra Game => Tech demo, support, updates => Topic started by: cameni on December 15, 2013, 09:45:29 am

Title: Video recording
Post by: cameni on December 15, 2013, 09:45:29 am
Built-in video recorder

Outerra comes with a built-in raw video capture, that produces video files in Y4M format. These raw video files can be open by several programs directly, for example VLC or Mplayer. However, you don't have to use the raw files - after you quit the application, a dialog box offering automatic conversion of previously captured videos will appear. It will convert raw video files into compressed Webm (http://www.webmproject.org/users/ (http://www.webmproject.org/users/)) format, suitable for direct upload to YouTube.

The bin/video/videomaker.exe tool will be automatically launched upon exiting Outerra, whenever there are some raw video files captured, and offer to convert them. Note that the input files (*.y4m, *.wav) will be deleted after a successful conversion.
If you want to use the raw files instead, just press cancel in the initial dialog.

Video compression parameters to use can be altered in the bin/video/video.cfg file. For the list of possible options, see http://www.webmproject.org/docs/encoder-parameters/ (http://www.webmproject.org/docs/encoder-parameters/)

For the best results:

Note: on ATI cards it's currently not possible to sync to the half of the display refresh rate due to a bug in their OpenGL driver.


Using external tools (Fraps ...)

Outerra by default blocks 3rd party programs from injecting into the rendering loop, since these programs are notoriously unstable when they have to work in the setup that Outerra uses (OpenGL 3.3+ context and separate app and rendering threads). They often cause intermittent crashes that look like an instability of Outerra itself, so we decided to prevent them from hooking into the rendering pipeline.

However, if you want to use these third party programs, you may change the default behavior by running outerra.exe with -allowext argument from the command line.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: ZeosPantera on December 15, 2013, 01:52:19 pm
Report sent. Haven't had a crash in a long long while. But 30 seconds into my first try of this new recorder .. Kersplat.

I unlocked fraps and will see what kind of output that grants.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on December 15, 2013, 02:57:24 pm
Hm, video capture tasks take extremely long on your system ... do you have vsync locked or not?
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: ZeosPantera on December 15, 2013, 03:17:35 pm
No Vsync but I do have my OT data folder on a slow-ish USB2.0 external hard disk. So that might be causing the slowdown.

On a sidenote.. Fraps seems to record quite well.

Outerra - Biomes and a Tumbler (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=31WA76cDq3A#)
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on December 16, 2013, 04:40:06 am
That slow disk is most likely the cause. But you can also redirect the video path in eng.cfg (videos_dir).
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: SpaceFlight on December 16, 2013, 05:38:56 am
The video recorder records fine in Y4M format here.
The videomaker tool does not start at exiting OT though, after capturing video, and it crashes right away if i try to start it manually.
Vsync is turned off and the video card is Ati/Amd.
Maybe my video.cfg needs tweaking?
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on December 16, 2013, 06:07:31 am
Oh I see videomaker crashes when run standalone, without a path argument - I'll fix it.
But try to run it with the video directory path as a command line argument.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: SpaceFlight on December 16, 2013, 09:41:27 am
Tried that, but doesn't seem to do anything. Could be that i used the wrong path argument though.  :D
I'll patiently wait for an update.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on December 16, 2013, 10:12:24 am
But that crash fix probably won't solve your problem. Normally the videomaker is run with the path to the directory with Y4M videos. I didn't test it without giving it the path argument. Here's the fixed version of the videomaker: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2spgr2B2dvNSGJXdGxEM2FPQ3M/edit?usp=sharing

If it's not given the path, it tries to read the Outerra data path directory from the registry, and get the videos from under the "videos" folder there.
But as I said, it doesn't address the problem of crashing when spawned from outerra.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: SpaceFlight on December 16, 2013, 11:33:23 am
Ok, how does the correct path argument look like for a certain harddisk drive?
I have Outerra on C:\ for example, and i changed the path for the video recording directory in the eng.cfg to a folder on F:\ drive.
Also, with the other version of the videomaker tool, i get a prompt now to execute it when exiting OT, but then nothing happens when i click "execute".
Same thing happens when starting it manually.

Edit: Never mind.
I figured there seems to be a naming convention with regards to the "videos" folder.
I changed the name of that folder to "Outerra_Videos", both in eng.cfg and on the drive and it did not work. Then changed it back to "videos" again both in eng.cfg and on the drive and it works now.  :D
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on December 16, 2013, 11:47:45 am
If you put the video recording directory to say F:\videos, then you should run
videomaker.exe F:\videos

Videomaker basically then runs the VP8/9 video encoder vpxenc.exe like this:
Code: [Select]
vpxenc --codec=vp8 -p 1 -t 1 --rt --cpu-used=4 --end-usage=cbr --target-bitrate=2000 --undershoot-pct=95 --buf-sz=6000 --buf-initial-sz=4000 --buf-optimal-sz=5000 -v --kf-max-dist=999999 --min-q=4 --max-q=56 -o output.vp8 input.y4m
Followed by webmuxer call that muxes the audion and produces the resulting webm file.

It would be great if you could try to run it in the vpxenc command line (substitute the real input.y4m name) to see if anything fails there.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: jonslynn on January 07, 2014, 10:13:19 am
I ended up with a 0 kb webm file, a y4m, and a big vp8 file.  I had just figured out how to make video files.  Now it is all screwed up.
I was hoping for clouds.  The old quality was good though.  Why did you guys do this?
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on January 07, 2014, 11:22:26 am
Why did you guys do this?
To simplify the video recording, since most users weren't able to do command line magic, or would not bother to.

y4m should be the big one, it's the raw video file.
vp8 is compressed video, using Google VP8 video codec.
Webm is then created by multiplexing the vp8 video and the captured wav audio file. What's the size of your wav file?
Assuming the VP8 was created ok, you could try running webmuxer from the command line to check what happens:

webmuxer.exe -i <video>.vp8 -ia <audio>.wav -o out.webm
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: jonslynn on January 07, 2014, 12:39:22 pm
Thanks, Thanks a lot.  You are so great.  Just fixes everything.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: jonslynn on January 07, 2014, 12:42:46 pm
It was better before.  As far as I know.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: Kaybl3 on February 03, 2014, 11:34:14 am
I cant seem to find the place where to put the -allowext argument. Can anyone help me with that?
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: DeanosBeano on February 03, 2014, 11:52:42 am
 hmm anteworld\bin\video has a cfg file perhaps there ?
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on February 03, 2014, 12:05:20 pm
It's a command line argument, when you launch outerra.exe from the command line.
But you can also right click on Anteworld shortcut, select properties, then in the Shortcut tab add -allowext into Target, after outerra.exe
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: Kaybl3 on February 03, 2014, 06:32:46 pm
It's a command line argument, when you launch outerra.exe from the command line.
But you can also right click on Anteworld shortcut, select properties, then in the Shortcut tab add -allowext into Target, after outerra.exe

Thank you that helped!
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: JAM3SwithGAM3S on June 08, 2014, 08:11:49 am
I had a strange problem.

So basically I had been trying to figure out why the in game recorder only records 1 second of footage and finally figured out the problem.

What my problem was is that when pressing F9 on my mechanical keyboard this only recorded 1 second of footage but after i swapped my keyboard with my older one without mechanical keys i pressed F9 and it recorded fine.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on June 08, 2014, 10:37:29 am
That's quite odd ... isn't there another app (perhaps a driver of that keyboard) running that would interfere and eat some keyboard events? eng.log should list the injected dll modules that could interfere.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: JAM3SwithGAM3S on June 08, 2014, 05:53:43 pm
I have a workaround thats not a problem. Only thing really bugging me is when i record and after converting i have no audio? is there a fix for this or do i need to use an audio recording software such as audacity?
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on June 09, 2014, 01:13:43 am
You must set the default audio input in Windows as described in the first post of this topic.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: JAM3SwithGAM3S on June 10, 2014, 01:46:56 pm
Ah ok thanks for that didnt realise someone else had the same issue otherwise i wouldnt have asked  :o
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: peterkrull on December 30, 2014, 09:25:13 pm
Using external tools (Fraps ...)

Outerra by default blocks 3rd party programs from injecting into the rendering loop, since these programs are notoriously unstable when they have to work in the setup that Outerra uses (OpenGL 3.3+ context and separate app and rendering threads). They often cause intermittent crashes that look like an instability of Outerra itself, so we decided to prevent them from hooking into the rendering pipeline.

However, if you want to use these third party programs, you may change the default behavior by running outerra.exe with -allowext argument from the command line.

Hey.

I'm currently working on a video project using Outerra, but it is close to impossible to get any recordings. When recording using the build-in recorder, I'm surprised at how resource friendly it is, and how manageable the files are. But Webm is really not the best format to edit with using Sony Vegas or Premiere Pro. Even with a plugin allowing me to edit .webm files in Premiere, it is really resource hungry, and creates some ugly artifacts (really ugly) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSX-i3MZj8I&feature=youtu.be (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSX-i3MZj8I&feature=youtu.be)

What's more annoying is that Fraps and Outerra do not go well together. The game looks just fine when I'm recording, but when playing it back, it is all jumpy and some imagery keeps appearing in the bottom-left corner.

I even went as far as getting a tool for converting the raw files to something like .avi, but it is telling me that the file is corrupt.

Is there a way for me to record this game into something like .avi or another editing friendly format without going to mars and back?
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: KW71 on December 30, 2014, 09:46:51 pm
Have you tried Blender for video edition? Is pretty decent. I made this video on it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mCYeC3lNmF0
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: peterkrull on December 30, 2014, 09:50:17 pm
I'm editing in Vegas and Premiere because I know those programs, and wont switch just because one program is incompatible.
No offence.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: KW71 on December 30, 2014, 10:02:00 pm
I'm editing in Vegas and Premiere because I know those programs, and wont switch just because one program is incompatible.
No offence.

I use Premier too, but had no luck with the webm plugin... So I tried Blender. When you know to work with one program, is not that hard to switch, believe me. Is like cooking in a different kitchen... Hell, where are the knives? Oh, here they are!... No big spoon? Well, instead I can use this cup. Blender is free and only  took me 15 minutes watch a video tutorial on youtube... But is up to you.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: peterkrull on December 30, 2014, 10:28:30 pm
I'm editing in Vegas and Premiere because I know those programs, and wont switch just because one program is incompatible.
No offence.

I use Premier too, but had no luck with the webm plugin... So I tried Blender. When you know to work with one program, is not that hard to switch, believe me. Is like cooking in a different kitchen... Hell, where are the knives? Oh, here they are!... No big spoon? Well, instead I can use this cup. Blender is free and only  took me 15 minutes watch a video tutorial on youtube... But is up to you.
If anything I would only use it to import and render the clips.
You have not experienced any artifacts?
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: KW71 on December 30, 2014, 10:46:25 pm
Not at all.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: aWac9 on December 31, 2014, 04:22:37 am
webm is a format not supported by sony.
There are many really good converters. Have you tried the Free Studio ?
http://www.dvdvideosoft.com/es/free-dvd-video-software-download.htm
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: peterkrull on December 31, 2014, 09:38:19 am
webm is a format not supported by sony.
There are many really good converters. Have you tried the Free Studio ?
http://www.dvdvideosoft.com/es/free-dvd-video-software-download.htm
Recording raw, turning raw to .webm and then converting that to another format is not only really time consuming, but also results in lower quality. I'm looking for the simplest and most reliable solution.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on December 31, 2014, 12:25:00 pm
Is this something that could help?
http://fnordware.blogspot.com/2013/12/webm-and-theora-plug-ins-for-premiere.html

Edit: sorry, didn't read properly that you already used a plugin
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: peterkrull on January 01, 2015, 11:19:40 am
Is this something that could help?
http://fnordware.blogspot.com/2013/12/webm-and-theora-plug-ins-for-premiere.html

Edit: sorry, didn't read properly that you already used a plugin
Yeah. While the slow editing is annoying to work with the deal breaker is that it looks horrible when rendered.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSX-i3MZj8I&feature=youtu.be (You might already have seen it)

I wont force you to do anything, but making the engine/game more video-creator-friendly could do a lot. As I have already said, I'm planning to make a montage/trailerish video.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: peterkrull on January 01, 2015, 11:33:31 am
(http://i.gyazo.com/136051e100c092958b030927e802dd1b.png)
And sometimes this just happens. Like the clips cant load, even though my HDDs seem healthy.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: PRiME on February 08, 2015, 08:08:32 pm
Thought I add this here, there is a Virtual Audio Streaming tool which has a Stereo Mix Plus driver with it. However not sure how well it works unregistered (still playing around.) Just thought I mention it incase someone else had similar issues with the ingame audio recorder, if this fails I will just use a separate audio recorder in background and tie it to same capture key.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: PRiME on February 08, 2015, 08:23:09 pm
Another issue I found exists is the video playback speed is very fast, 2-3x faster then what it should be. Any tips on fixing that would be appreciated. Cheers
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on February 09, 2015, 01:31:19 am
What vertical refresh setting (in graphic settings) are you using?
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: KW71 on February 22, 2015, 11:32:18 am
Unable to record videos.

Here is the eng.log file

https://www.dropbox.com/s/swyys0tvm461kht/eng.log (http://goo.gl/DaK1M8)?dl=0

Thank you very much!
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on February 22, 2015, 11:37:31 am
Seems just one frame captured. What's your vertical refresh setting, could you try to change that to check if the problem happens with different settings as well?
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: KW71 on February 22, 2015, 12:57:40 pm
O.K. Here it is:

My refresh rate is 60. I can record videos with Vertical Sync off and half rate; the problem is present just with full rate.

I have tried another res / frec, and is the same.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on February 22, 2015, 01:18:37 pm
Ok thanks for providing the feedback, we'll look at the problem.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: konaone on February 27, 2015, 12:39:23 pm
I can not record sound ......
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: HiFlyer on February 27, 2015, 01:01:16 pm
I can not record sound ......

Perhaps helpful, perhaps not....... http://forum.outerra.com/index.php?topic=3190.msg34406#msg34406
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: konaone on February 28, 2015, 04:04:10 am
I seem to have realized that it does not work for the 200 Series
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: Levi on February 28, 2015, 04:57:40 am
To record the sounds, make sure you have Stereo Mix set as Default Device in Recording devices.
If there's no Stereo Mix present, you may need to update your sound card drivers.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: konaone on February 28, 2015, 09:03:43 am
I do not have a sound card, but integrated into the motherboard
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: Levi on February 28, 2015, 09:13:52 am
Mine is integrated into the motherboard too, it doesn't matter. Just make sure you have stereo mix set as default, and you should be able to record the audio.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: Jagerbomber on February 28, 2015, 02:33:03 pm
I believe... Windows removed Stereo Mix... though I'm not exactly sure which version they did.

However, you can try getting something like Virtual Audio Cable or something similar to do the same things.

Or there might be some other solution.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: konaone on February 28, 2015, 07:45:27 pm
I can not, in fact I can not find the stereo mix.
I have W7
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: KW71 on February 28, 2015, 09:35:12 pm
There is stero mix for me in w7.

-Control panel.
-Switch to "Small Icons".
-Sound icon
-Record tab

Mine is in spanish (mezcla estéreo).

Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: cameni on March 01, 2015, 01:47:46 am
Stereo mix can be disabled, try right clicking in recording devices and "show disabled devices".
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: konaone on March 01, 2015, 04:50:17 am
.................done, but I only have the microphone and if I select shows off devices do not have stereo mix and if I click disconnected devices have a microphone and a line input =|
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: Levi on March 01, 2015, 05:10:39 am
As mentioned before, you may need to update your sound card driver. Or maybe install an older one.
In my case, I needed to update it in order to have Stereo Mix in there.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: konaone on March 01, 2015, 12:41:40 pm
Warning, do not know how but I resolved, I maneuvered with vlc and now it works !!! Thanks to all !!
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: SteelRat on August 02, 2015, 04:58:14 pm
Hi All!

EN:
How to get rid of these terrible freezes?

RU:
Как избавиться от этих жутких фризов?
В добавок этот подарок приводит к нарушению синхронизации видео со звуком.

https://youtu.be/BFp0JmGR5CI
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: Kaybl3 on August 02, 2015, 05:55:59 pm
Hi All!

EN:
How to get rid of these terrible freezes?

RU:
Как избавиться от этих жутких фризов?
В добавок этот подарок приводит к нарушению синхронизации видео со звуком.

https://youtu.be/BFp0JmGR5CI


If you recorded this with the in-engine recorder I would recommend you rather try it with fraps. Much less lag and stutters! (but huge file sizes)
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: SteelRat on August 02, 2015, 06:10:32 pm
This is not a solution to the problem!)
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: Kaybl3 on August 02, 2015, 06:15:22 pm
This is not a solution to the problem!)

What are your system specs?
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: SteelRat on August 02, 2015, 06:36:29 pm
This is not a solution to the problem!)

What are your system specs?

It's not in the system, the recorder off, and no problems !!!)
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: Kaybl3 on August 02, 2015, 07:21:39 pm
This is not a solution to the problem!)

What are your system specs?

It's not in the system, the recorder off, and no problems !!!)

Use a different recorder then.
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: SteelRat on August 02, 2015, 08:05:09 pm
This is not a solution to the problem!)

What are your system specs?

It's not in the system, the recorder off, and no problems !!!)

Use a different recorder then.

If I had used this approach whenever confronted with problems, I would not use a different recorder, I have started to use another engine).
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: Kaybl3 on August 02, 2015, 08:06:17 pm
I had the same problem, I just used fraps and all was good!
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: SteelRat on August 04, 2015, 04:43:40 pm
RU:
Попробовал я пару сторонних программ для записи видео, обе нормально работают, но проявляется другая проблема, в записанное видео не попадает информация выводимая этим методом.

Code: [Select]
function show_hud (car) {
car.canvas = car.sketch.create_canvas(car.grp, {x:-0.65,y:0.88,z:0.18});

var _n = "\n";

var txt = "<< CAR >>" + _n;
txt += "SPEED : " + Math.round(car.speed()*3.6) + _n + _n;
txt         += "<< ENGINE >>" + _n;
txt         += "RPM    : " + Math.round(car.eng.rpmMax * car.eng.rpm) + _n;
txt += "THRUST : " + Math.round(car.eng.thrust[car.tm.gearbox.current] * car.eng.thrustCur) + _n;

car.sketch.draw_text({x:0,y:0}, 0xffffffff, txt);
}
Title: Re: Video recording
Post by: PytonPago on August 05, 2015, 12:15:32 am
RU:
Попробовал я пару сторонних программ для записи видео, обе нормально работают, но проявляется другая проблема, в записанное видео не попадает информация выводимая этим методом.


 ............ tryed some programs for videocapture, both work normal, but there is another problem - in the captured video, all information from this code doesnt being captured.