Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5

Author Topic: Model - JBSim guidance?  (Read 37576 times)

ddenn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #45 on: October 08, 2012, 03:46:26 pm »

Yes, it works, as well as jsb["gear/unit[0]/wheel-speed-fps"];

I have another question, can we have "retract gear" binding?
Logged
i7 3930K 3.50 (3.80) Ghz, 32Gb RAM, GTX980 4 Gb VRAM, Windows 7 64-bit

About Outerra in Russian

angrypig

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #46 on: October 08, 2012, 03:53:02 pm »

i will try to add it into the next version...
Logged

ddenn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #47 on: October 09, 2012, 02:30:24 am »

Is there property for camera position? I'd like to hide pilot when camera is in cockpit view.
Logged
i7 3930K 3.50 (3.80) Ghz, 32Gb RAM, GTX980 4 Gb VRAM, Windows 7 64-bit

About Outerra in Russian

angrypig

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #48 on: October 09, 2012, 03:07:50 am »

not yet but i will add a function for that...
Logged

ddenn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #49 on: October 12, 2012, 03:10:52 am »

I found very strange behavior, if I change CG (Center of Gravity) point in FDM the 3d model moves like it attached to it. This should not happen, CG is not constant in aircrafts and changes all the time with fuel quantity changing, plane' load etc. The 3d model position should depend only on VRP (Visual Reference Point) point in FDM file, as it does it FlightGear. Right now changing VRP does nothing.



P.s. Can we have command to reload model's script and FDM without reloading Outerra?

« Last Edit: October 12, 2012, 03:12:46 am by ddenn »
Logged
i7 3930K 3.50 (3.80) Ghz, 32Gb RAM, GTX980 4 Gb VRAM, Windows 7 64-bit

About Outerra in Russian

deathevor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
  • User
    • Sk-Films
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #50 on: October 12, 2012, 07:59:01 am »

Question to angrypig:

Was there any luck with MAx 2013 Autodesk Collada importing, is there a chance we'll have it?


P.s. Can we have command to reload model's script and FDM without reloading Outerra?

Agree with this, would be very useful tool especially if it would be a hotkey, it means you could see all changes in configuration almost live.
Logged
VFx Artist/Supervisor, Private Pilot - www.sk-films.com

Chaoz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
  • newbie
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #51 on: October 12, 2012, 08:25:16 am »

what i can't understand is, that even if you put a value in the maxrpm line, the rpm goes way higher...
Logged

angrypig

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #52 on: October 12, 2012, 08:49:57 am »

Question to angrypig:
Was there any luck with MAx 2013 Autodesk Collada importing, is there a chance we'll have it?

I didn't have a time to try it yet... working on bugs and features :)

P.s. Can we have command to reload model's script and FDM without reloading Outerra?

Agree with this, would be very useful tool especially if it would be a hotkey, it means you could see all changes in configuration almost live.

Yes i want this feature too :)
Logged

angrypig

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #53 on: October 12, 2012, 11:03:55 am »

what i can't understand is, that even if you put a value in the maxrpm line, the rpm goes way higher...

Can you show us the script?
Logged

Chaoz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
  • newbie
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #54 on: October 12, 2012, 11:14:14 am »

well i'am working with the Shavrov-Sh2 model of dden, which has a rpm gauge labelled until 2000 rpm, the engine script says 1650 rpm as max rpm and I don#t know what part everything else plays in calculating the rpm in the end but when I'am at 100% throttle the rpm is somewhere over 2300 rpm and doesn't fit into the gauge...

Script goes:
<piston_engine name="M11">
  <minmp unit="INHG">          6.0 </minmp>
  <maxmp unit="INHG">         28.5 </maxmp>
  <displacement unit="IN3"> 524.80 </displacement>
  <maxhp>        100.00 </maxhp>
  <cycles>         4.0 </cycles>
  <idlerpm>      450.0 </idlerpm>
  <maxrpm>      1650.0 </maxrpm>
  <maxthrottle>    1.0 </maxthrottle><!-- Deprecated -->
  <minthrottle>    0.1 </minthrottle><!-- Deprecated -->
  <sparkfaildrop>  0.1 </sparkfaildrop>
  <volumetric-efficiency> 0.85 </volumetric-efficiency>
  <stroke unit="IN">  5.51  </stroke>
  <cylinders>      5.0 </cylinders>
  <compression-ratio> 5.0 </compression-ratio>
</piston_engine>
Logged

angrypig

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #55 on: October 12, 2012, 11:42:37 am »

I just downloaded Ddenn's SH2 and the RPM indicator works fine. The JSBSim FDM definition has nothing with the indicator, the indicator is handled by the Javascript in "packages\ddenn\ShavrovSh2\sh2.aircraft.js".
Logged

Chaoz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
  • newbie
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #56 on: October 12, 2012, 03:54:27 pm »

yeah i just downloaded it for comparision and saw that dden simply divided the rpm so 1650 is displayed but when compared to the real value in jsb as shown in the image it's just not true.

it's because of the line in the js script which says rpm*PI/2900 although it should be 2000 since the indicator is only labelled until 2000...

Logged

ddenn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #57 on: October 12, 2012, 03:58:55 pm »

Yep, I'm cheating :) Have no idea why engine works that way
Logged
i7 3930K 3.50 (3.80) Ghz, 32Gb RAM, GTX980 4 Gb VRAM, Windows 7 64-bit

About Outerra in Russian

ddenn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #58 on: October 13, 2012, 06:05:52 am »

Found what was the problem with RPM. The propeller required too small power to operate. Required power could be tuned in table data <table name="C_POWER" type="internal"> of propeller .xml.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2012, 09:05:26 am by ddenn »
Logged
i7 3930K 3.50 (3.80) Ghz, 32Gb RAM, GTX980 4 Gb VRAM, Windows 7 64-bit

About Outerra in Russian

ddenn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
Re: Model - JBSim guidance?
« Reply #59 on: November 04, 2012, 12:50:06 pm »

Can we have some dummy objects/marks to see where the contact point of the flightmodel is? At least a zero point of the FDM. Somehow I can't figure out where the zero point is and how the axis now oriented in new coordinates.
Logged
i7 3930K 3.50 (3.80) Ghz, 32Gb RAM, GTX980 4 Gb VRAM, Windows 7 64-bit

About Outerra in Russian
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5