Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7

Author Topic: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2  (Read 48896 times)

ddenn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« on: October 11, 2012, 04:40:23 am »

Shavrov Sh-2 aircraft Outerra addon. Will work only with payware version of Outerra.

DOWNLOAD OTX (~6mb)

Update 15.02.2014, version 0.5.7 :
- Updated to new material system




old and irrelevant messages

Update 16.06.2013, version 0.5.6 :
- Can be installed now in one click (exported to .OTX format)

Update 25.05.2013, version 0.5.6 :
- Can be installed now in one click (exported to .OTX format)

For correct work you need also replace OT's jsbsim_wrapper.dll with new version -  (I guess it will be updated with next OT update)

If you have problems with sounds (sounds disappearing on onboard Realtek HD audio cards for instance) you need to replace
OT's OpenAL32.dll with this version -

Update 11.01.2013, version 0.5.5 :
- Quick fix, wind sound is was too loud
- Changed flight model
- Added sounds (engine, prop, landing gear and wind)
- Fuel indicator now works

Update 16.10.2012, version 0.5.3:
- Changed propeller characteristics
- Changed flight model, added more drag. (CG point is still somewhere at wheels height)
- Minor 3d model bug fixes

Update 12.10.2012, version 0.5.2:
-Pilot is hidden in first person view
-Gears are retractable
-New collision points (possible land with gears up)
-Updated flight model


Edit2: Changed to direct link.
Edit: Download was updated to version 0.5.1, fixed RPM indication.



New method: Press F4 key, go to "aircrafts" tab, find and select "Shavrov_Sh-2", press "Spawn" button.

Old method: To use it ingame open F7 menu, place "ddenn/ShavrovSh2/Shavrov_Sh-2" object somewhere and it appears above current camera position. Close all menus, move near the plane and press enter (just a remainder, after you entered the plane press space to enable physics and plane controls).

« Last Edit: February 15, 2014, 12:50:46 pm by ddenn »
Logged
i7 3930K 3.50 (3.80) Ghz, 32Gb RAM, GTX980 4 Gb VRAM, Windows 7 64-bit

About Outerra in Russian

Chaoz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
  • newbie
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2012, 08:29:49 am »

Hi, great work! I just have a few things i noticed, First the engine rpm needle has the wrong calculation, you did it in degrees but the rotate function expects radians and if you don't look directly on the console the indicators vanish:





Logged

deathevor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
  • User
    • Sk-Films
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2012, 08:34:29 am »

Amazing. Well done ddenn!
Looks like you are the first one.

Would be good if you could share your experience with this one.
Logged
VFx Artist/Supervisor, Private Pilot - www.sk-films.com

ddenn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2012, 08:36:18 am »

Hi, great work! I just have a few things i noticed, First the engine rpm needle has the wrong calculation, you did it in degrees but the rotate function expects radians and if you don't look directly on the console the indicators vanish

I can't do anything with vanishing indicators, that's Outerra team job :) Thanks for the report about indicator, will fix it.

Update: Fixed RPM indication, see first post. Though it doesn't work as it should in real aircraft, but that's my lack of JSBSim knowledge...

Amazing. Well done ddenn!
Looks like you are the first one.

Would be good if you could share your experience with this one.

Ask me what you interested in, I'll try to help.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2012, 08:58:54 am by ddenn »
Logged
i7 3930K 3.50 (3.80) Ghz, 32Gb RAM, GTX980 4 Gb VRAM, Windows 7 64-bit

About Outerra in Russian

seppen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • newbie
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2012, 09:01:57 am »

Thank you :)
It´s already a little gem, need to build a proper hangar for it.

Perfect to use for exploring of Outerra creations from air.
Logged

deathevor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
  • User
    • Sk-Films
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2012, 09:09:23 am »

Quote
Ask me what you interested in, I'll try to help.


Hi ddenn,

Just interested in workflow. We've spoke about it with Cameni in this thread - http://www.outerra.com/forum/index.php?topic=1185.msg13516#msg13516


Few things that you can mention:

  • Collada Exporter - In which software you've modeled plane, and what exporter used? 
    (To my concern 3D max 2013 is not supported by OpenCollada, so reexporting needed through other soft)
  • Does the plane elements (Fan, rudder, Aerilons have to be in the same mesh as element or separate meshes?
  • Jbsim file structure (what file you've used as example and how much you modified it?)
  • Any other things that needs to be done to get model imported as vehicle?

Thanks in advance.
Hope your experience will help more people to develop content for Outerra.

P.S. Also it is interesting to know:

  • Setting up positions for view cameras
  • Glass and Fan Transparency

 
« Last Edit: October 11, 2012, 09:42:27 am by deathevor »
Logged
VFx Artist/Supervisor, Private Pilot - www.sk-films.com

ddenn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2012, 09:49:49 am »

I use Max 2012 with Open Collada plugin. Plane elements should be separate meshes, with its own Pivots. Than group all meshes and name that group after the plane before exporting it to DAE. Also it's a good thing to properly name materials. When importing resulting file to OT don't forget to check all meshes you what to animate as BONES, or animations won't work.

I used JSBSim Aeromatic to create simple flightmodel, engine and propeller. I have to rewrite <contact type="BOGEY" name="LEFT_MAIN">, <contact type="BOGEY" name="RIGHT_MAIN">  and <contact type="BOGEY" name="TAIL"> positions in main FDM file, Shavrov_Sh-2.xml, to correspond tire collision points with 3d model. Tried to mess a bit with wings etc. but result was unflyable FDM, so I just tuned a bit DRAG and LIFT sections of the same xml to get more or less normal speeds. Also placing FDM files is important, main file should be in the /jsbsim/aircraft/[addon name] directory, and engine and prop files should be in /jsbsim/engine directory.

Last thing is animations script, sh2.aircraft.js. I've never used JavaScript before, but it's not hard to understand looking at default Cessna script file. There's some rules in JS, which I didn't know, but if error was made in the script you'll see it in the debug window of OT, and in the eng.log file.

Don't forget also to write your script and FDM file to model's .objdef .

There's how importing looks like:

Quote
to install aircraft user needs to open Outerra, import the addon from DAE format (chose right object to import and check all the bones for animations), exit Outerra, place .js script, .matlib and .objdev files to /packages/ folder and flight dynamic files into /jsbsim/aircraft/[addon name] folder (and some of them in /Engine/ subfolder), start Outerra and hope that nothing went wrong

Don't forget to convert all the textures to DDS format, or importing will be impossible.

P.s. Glass is just a material type, you can copy it from default Cessna .matlib file. The prop uses opacity texture, but it's just another material like in Cessna. The logic of prop meshes hiding/appearing is in the .js script file.

Camera position is set in the script file as well, by one of the objects of the aircraft (could be just dummy):

Code: [Select]
  this.set_fps_camera_pos(
    geom.get_joint_local_pos(geom.get_joint('ochki')));
}
« Last Edit: October 11, 2012, 09:57:26 am by ddenn »
Logged
i7 3930K 3.50 (3.80) Ghz, 32Gb RAM, GTX980 4 Gb VRAM, Windows 7 64-bit

About Outerra in Russian

deathevor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
  • User
    • Sk-Films
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2012, 09:57:17 am »

Thanks Ddenn,

Abnout to import my model, everything imports well as Static, but as soon I try to import it as Aircraft - I don't see a bone list.
Thing is that I have Max 2013 and have to reexport everything through Meshlab.

I see all bones as Package objects, but not as bones. Will need to figure this out.
Logged
VFx Artist/Supervisor, Private Pilot - www.sk-films.com

ddenn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2012, 10:08:34 am »

Thanks Ddenn,

Abnout to import my model, everything imports well as Static, but as soon I try to import it as Aircraft - I don't see a bone list.
Thing is that I have Max 2013 and have to reexport everything through Meshlab.

I see all bones as Package objects, but not as bones. Will need to figure this out.
This happens if all meshes of the scene didn't grouped in one group I think
Logged
i7 3930K 3.50 (3.80) Ghz, 32Gb RAM, GTX980 4 Gb VRAM, Windows 7 64-bit

About Outerra in Russian

deathevor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
  • User
    • Sk-Films
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2012, 10:19:59 am »

Yes you right.

It is necessary to group them in Max, other way it regonize them as separate objects, not bones.
So grouping them solved the problem.

However reexporting through Meshlab makes everything as single mesh, so have to get Max 2012 with Open Collada.
Logged
VFx Artist/Supervisor, Private Pilot - www.sk-films.com

angrypig

  • Outerra Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 454
    • http://outerra.com
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2012, 10:49:47 am »

It is necessary to group them in Max, other way it regonize them as separate objects, not bones.
So grouping them solved the problem.

However reexporting through Meshlab makes everything as single mesh, so have to get Max 2012 with Open Collada.

Try to use build-in Autodesk COLLADA export, may be the version in Max 2013 is finally usable...
Logged

deathevor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
  • User
    • Sk-Films
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2012, 11:09:19 am »

Outerra crashes when importing Autodesk Collada.

Durin import Outerra perfectly sees bones and all configuration process goes fine. Only during conversion (last step) it crashes.

But anyway managed to get 2012 with Open Collada. The xport was even better - all Material Colors exported well.
Only the transparency didn't.

Here's a screenshot (Su-27):

Logged
VFx Artist/Supervisor, Private Pilot - www.sk-films.com

angrypig

  • Outerra Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 454
    • http://outerra.com
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2012, 11:12:02 am »

Can you send the collada file from 2013?
Logged

deathevor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
  • User
    • Sk-Films
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2012, 11:33:06 am »

Can you send the collada file from 2013?

Can I send you a link to you as PM?
« Last Edit: October 11, 2012, 11:35:57 am by deathevor »
Logged
VFx Artist/Supervisor, Private Pilot - www.sk-films.com

deathevor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
  • User
    • Sk-Films
Re: Aircraft Addon - Shavrov Sh-2
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2012, 11:44:48 am »

Ok. Link Sent.

I've exported it with standard settings (Y-Axis Up).

Importing it back to max gives strange thing, the panel mesh is abnormal size, the rest is fine.
So in case you'll see strange mesh, it's probably will be a cockpit panel, the plane itself is 10 times smaller.

Will export it again without it and will send link again.


UPDATE: Sent you another link, now the export looks ok.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2012, 11:57:30 am by deathevor »
Logged
VFx Artist/Supervisor, Private Pilot - www.sk-films.com
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7