Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: My View on Outerra + Example concepts  (Read 4756 times)

reb3l

My View on Outerra + Example concepts
« on: November 11, 2012, 03:30:59 am »

Hi there,

I came across your engine through a arma2 forum and i would like to say it looks very awesome
after looking through your forum i really like the sight of all these idea's brousing up by everybody.
Hence i would like to toss my 2 cents in to the pot.
I have been playing games as a past time since 1999 and forth and although i loved the early generation games my interest in gaming has progressivly fallen flat with the newer style games.
Focussing pretty much on graphics and elements that have been done 1000 times before, and by that i mean core elements. for example Loot spawning. Character creation, Ammo boxes, Linear storylines, health systems. Re-Petitive multiplayer (see what i did there?) and such.
So yeah, after taking a look at your engine i feel all these new ideas coming up and would like to share it with the community.

1. ModWorld
   Basically it consists of one world where people can make mods inside the world. With mods acting as minigames sort of like happy wheels on steroids.
   Where one can drive/fly/boat to diffrent mods. Possibly with a player/resource upkeep to maintain.
   The general theme would probably be a feel good scene where no seriousness occur regarding "Zombies" "War" or "Apocalypse"

Where the mod creator can spend his earned kudos to enable byte slots for importing newly created models/data
   Players can earn kudos/items/skins through the mod but the loot mechanics are not handled by the mod itself sort of like a apple appstore

So after a while people would be dressed/defined totally diffrent by what mods they have been played+ achievements etc etc.