Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Vectors as Textures = Speed and Interaction?  (Read 12142 times)

Heyworth

Vectors as Textures = Speed and Interaction?
« on: February 12, 2013, 01:59:19 pm »

I don't claim to know much about 3D... I have a very little experience with 3DSmax and texture rendering etc. I do however work with Adobe Illustrator (vectors) on a fairly regular basis.

Vectors are extremely compatible with how computer CPUs process information.
Compared with rasterization (BMP, JPG etc) the speed and scalability of a vector is MUCH FASTER!

Therefore, one thing that has always baffled me, is why the two graphic processing techniques are used together in a virtual 3D environment?
It just appears illogical (I am a layman).
Can 3D engines use vectorised textures?

Vectorised Textures
Multiple layers of coloured 2D vectors could easily be made into textures and therefore speed up the whole rendering process.
This would dramatically enhance the interaction with the environment and could also (with the right algorithms) greatly improve collision detection and effect! ;)

Imagine two different meshes are assigned with two different vector textures (lets call it them a VT from now on)
Each VT could be 'tagged' with a certain firmness.
The firmness could depend upon how many layers of different shaded vectors make up the texture...

Example
Out of a firmness of 100... A Diamond VT is tagged at +80 meaning it consists of 80 layers and is therefore a VERY STRONG material.
80 layers in design terms is PLENTY to make a diamond texture.
Some of the layers/parts of each layer will therefore need to be invisible/semi-transparent.

A Collision Situation
A mesh is assigned with a glass texture and along comes a mesh with a rock texture...