Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: Game Developer Tools Unity 3D  (Read 5930 times)

b360

Game Developer Tools Unity 3D
« on: March 25, 2013, 02:31:15 pm »

Hello,

I currently learnign to work with the Unity 3D engine and came across your site after seeing a youtube video.  Very impressive.  As a indie developer i would love to see the tools with the algorithms you use on unity 3D from the asset store.  Unity works on C++ or Java and both if necessary.  To be honest I think if you sold the tools independently to developers on the unity asset store that it would be amazing and probably make a lot of revenue for your company during its startup. 

I know im not alone, others are looking for the same tools which there are quite a few but yours seem very nice.   Is this something you have considered?

Thanks.

cameni

• Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • No sense of urgency.
    • outerra.com
Re: Game Developer Tools Unity 3D
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2013, 03:02:54 pm »

What kind of tools you have in mind? I don't know how the Unity store works.

I can't quite imagine using Outerra on top of Unity, if that's what you have in mind. Right now Outerra is a specialized engine that works directly on top of OpenGL ≥3.3 and utilizes various low-level optimizations to make it tick. Making it running on Unity would be only slowing it down, and maybe also making some things downright impossible.

If you mean some tools just to generate the terrain, in theory it would be possible in a limited way, but it would require a geometry streaming engine in Unity.
In any case, everything would probably require a lot of effort ...

b360

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2013, 02:30:52 am »