Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: Trying to import a model from 3dsmax, not having much luck though.  (Read 4237 times)

WormSlayer

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Half-Life VR

So I was just trying to import a model but I'm getting a "missing/wrong UVs" error and the textures dont load, then when I try to place my model, I get a building instead?

http://i.imgur.com/rC8ARSS.jpg
Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6716
  • No sense of urgency.
    • outerra.com
Re: Trying to import a model from 3dsmax, not having much luck though.
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2013, 02:10:26 am »

There's a bug in the builder window in the latest update, places a wrong object, working on it.
Logged

WormSlayer

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Half-Life VR
Re: Trying to import a model from 3dsmax, not having much luck though.
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2013, 10:36:12 am »

Oh, ok. Any idea about the UV error and on texture? :)
Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6716
  • No sense of urgency.
    • outerra.com
Re: Trying to import a model from 3dsmax, not having much luck though.
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2013, 10:53:12 am »

Did you convert the textures to DDS? Those UV errors can be usually ignored ...
Logged

WormSlayer

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Half-Life VR
Re: Trying to import a model from 3dsmax, not having much luck though.
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2013, 11:09:26 am »

Yup, converted all the textures, though there are many and various types of .dds... I can upload a copy somewhere if you want to try it yourself?
Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6716
  • No sense of urgency.
    • outerra.com
Re: Trying to import a model from 3dsmax, not having much luck though.
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2013, 11:13:38 am »

Yes, you can export it as a package and share somewhere.
Logged

WormSlayer

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Half-Life VR
Re: Trying to import a model from 3dsmax, not having much luck though.
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2013, 11:21:35 am »

I think you just fixed the placement bug? :D

Doh! I just had to manually enter the texture filenames into the .matlib file XD

http://i.imgur.com/eeE97L0.jpg

The normal maps dont seem to work though and I'm guessing tex_reflectance equates to specular mapping?

Here is a copy of the model: lp_mech01.rar (2.1 MB)
« Last Edit: May 28, 2013, 11:49:56 am by WormSlayer »
Logged