Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: Issue remapping flight controls  (Read 4442 times)

RobDeBob

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • newbie
Issue remapping flight controls
« on: May 29, 2013, 06:29:43 pm »

I'm accustomed to using my mouse for controlling roll and pitch, but while in vehicles your mouse controls head movement. Is there a way to lock head movement or map vehicle controls to mouse input? I was trying to prepare a hybrid mouse+keyboard setup like in ArmA, where an Oculus Rift would control head movement. Can this currently be achieved? If not, maybe a future mod could introduce this?
Logged

bugsblake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • jedi master
Re: Issue remapping flight controls
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2013, 06:58:34 pm »

i know mouse buttons can be used but mouse movement cant as far as i know! though i would like to see this too, but for mouse steering in cars as we dont all have a wheel! a game called "live for speed" had mouse steering and its what made the game for me! so i hope this is something that will be added at some point! :)
Logged
Intel 6 core i7 Xeon - 4930k @3.40 GHz
GTX 770 4GB X2 in SLI
Asus P9X79 Extreme MOBO
Patriot 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD 250GB + SATA 500GB + SATA 1TB

RobDeBob

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • newbie
Re: Issue remapping flight controls
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2013, 07:51:08 pm »

What's your recommended control scheme, then? I have a Dualshock 3 with MotioninJoy, so that's a possibility.
Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6672
  • No sense of urgency.
    • outerra.com
Re: Issue remapping flight controls
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2013, 02:11:13 am »

Would just having the mouse axes mappable be enough? With a shortcut to switch between the default behavior.
Logged

RobDeBob

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • newbie
Re: Issue remapping flight controls
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2013, 07:51:58 am »

Exactly, mouse axes would be great.
Logged

bugsblake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • jedi master
Re: Issue remapping flight controls
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2013, 09:36:49 am »

+1 that would be great! :D
Logged
Intel 6 core i7 Xeon - 4930k @3.40 GHz
GTX 770 4GB X2 in SLI
Asus P9X79 Extreme MOBO
Patriot 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD 250GB + SATA 500GB + SATA 1TB

Ramjet

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • newbie
Re: Issue remapping flight controls
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2013, 04:36:07 pm »

Would just having the mouse axes mappable be enough? With a shortcut to switch between the default behavior.

Yes, please, and thank you. When I fly with a mouse and keyboard, I like to fly helicopters with pitch and rudder being mapped to my mouse axes. I roll with a/d. I would love to be able to do this in Anteworld.

Thanks.
Logged