Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: Placing a road.  (Read 2362 times)

digitalx

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • newbie
Placing a road.
« on: January 16, 2014, 01:23:53 pm »

Hey guys, just purchased the Alpha, having a blast with the jet atm :D

I would like to place a road, I have tried selecting it, then placing it upon a random patch of grass but the the place button is not accessible, must it be joined ONTO an existing road?
Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6647
  • Pegs is clever, but tae hain’t a touch sentimental
    • outerra.com
Re: Placing a road.
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2014, 02:23:39 pm »

In the road editor you are normally creating new roads by placing multiple individual way points (by holding ctrl and clicking), then pressing Make road to create the road. A selected road can be modified, new way points always append after the last node, but if you want to make a new road, do not select an existing one, just start placing the way points.
Logged

Gemini6

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • newbie
Re: Placing a road.
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2014, 01:41:46 pm »

Is there any way to move while you are placing a road so you can extend it past the horizon? When I create a road and move to the end of it, when I try to append onto the existing road, the elevation is way off.

Thanks
Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6647
  • Pegs is clever, but tae hain’t a touch sentimental
    • outerra.com
Re: Placing a road.
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2014, 03:55:37 pm »

I'm not sure what you mean by extending past horizon.
But here's an older blog talking about roads & some tricks there http://outerra.blogspot.com/2012/03/road-tool.html
Logged