Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: menu bar broken!  (Read 3954 times)

bugsblake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • jedi master
menu bar broken!
« on: March 10, 2014, 02:15:08 am »

hi all! i inported a sketchup model yesterday and it crashed outerra! i deleted the model so no problem there, but it has somehow broke my menu bar! now nothing work! cant spawn cars/boats/planes, cant open options, cant exit! have to close it with task manager!

i have the whole earth downloaded and rather not have to mess about much to fix it! can i just install outerra over it again or will that wipe out my placement files/models ect?

i did send a crash report yesterday but got no answer yet and really wanna get back into game! thanks
Logged
Intel 6 core i7 Xeon - 4930k @3.40 GHz
GTX 770 4GB X2 in SLI
Asus P9X79 Extreme MOBO
Patriot 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD 250GB + SATA 500GB + SATA 1TB

necro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
    • google+ Blog
Re: menu bar broken!
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2014, 06:17:49 am »

I guess the quickest way is to reinstall outerra. But your symptoms dont make sense. So actually it would be nice to know what happened.

If this issue exists after reinstalling, you should delete your whole packages folder.


Btw. post the eng.log and screenshots of the menu bar. Maybe this will help more than anything else.
Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6621
  • Pegs is clever, but tae hain’t a touch sentimental
    • outerra.com
Re: menu bar broken!
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2014, 06:59:30 am »

A better description of how broken it is would be helpful, or a picture of it.
You can try deleting eng.cfg and world.cfg, if it doesn't work please provide the eng.log file.
Logged

bugsblake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • jedi master
Re: menu bar broken!
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2014, 07:19:26 am »

though i said how it was broke already, as in nothing works on it! what more can i say then that? anyway a pic showing the console when i click the menu bar! you can see the errors there!
Logged
Intel 6 core i7 Xeon - 4930k @3.40 GHz
GTX 770 4GB X2 in SLI
Asus P9X79 Extreme MOBO
Patriot 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD 250GB + SATA 500GB + SATA 1TB

bugsblake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • jedi master
Re: menu bar broken!
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2014, 07:24:54 am »

log is over 128k so had to upload it at mediafire! heres the link:

https://www.mediafire.com/?729ot2umnvpgnar
Logged
Intel 6 core i7 Xeon - 4930k @3.40 GHz
GTX 770 4GB X2 in SLI
Asus P9X79 Extreme MOBO
Patriot 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD 250GB + SATA 500GB + SATA 1TB

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6621
  • Pegs is clever, but tae hain’t a touch sentimental
    • outerra.com
Re: menu bar broken!
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2014, 07:28:29 am »

You wrote "it has somehow broke my menu bar! now nothing work!". Unfortunately that doesn't provide any helpful info where to look for the error. Now from the screen I can see there are script errors, and the eng.log file will be full of them, and may contain other hints what's wrong.

Try reinstalling, this seems like the files are corrupted. When reinstalling, be sure to uncheck the "demo data" option, but it should be off by default. Also, delete the two cfg files.

Btw there seem to be many texture files missing, but those may be from outdated imports.
Logged

bugsblake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • jedi master
Re: menu bar broken!
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2014, 09:32:48 am »

ok thanks will give that a try! the missing textures are nothing to worry about, just textures ive not yet converted to .dds for models im working on! so them errors will go anyway! will post back and let you know how it goes! thanks
Logged
Intel 6 core i7 Xeon - 4930k @3.40 GHz
GTX 770 4GB X2 in SLI
Asus P9X79 Extreme MOBO
Patriot 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD 250GB + SATA 500GB + SATA 1TB

bugsblake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • jedi master
Re: menu bar broken!
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2014, 10:05:48 am »

ok reinstalled and deleted cfg's but now i get this error when i start! i tried to remove that folder but then the same problem with the next! after this error outerra crashes! so wont even start now!

want another log? or should i just back up my world files as i have the whole planet on my pc and wave goodbye to my placement files and just start fresh?

here the new log anyway, if it helps?

Logged
Intel 6 core i7 Xeon - 4930k @3.40 GHz
GTX 770 4GB X2 in SLI
Asus P9X79 Extreme MOBO
Patriot 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD 250GB + SATA 500GB + SATA 1TB

PytonPago

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2253
  • It´s way too complex, dont let me try to explain !
Re: menu bar broken!
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2014, 10:30:11 am »

Its, because the installer is older version and finds vehicle packages of newer ones, witch he cant handle - delete (or relocate) all vehicles (it will instal the base ones from OT again with the updates) ...
Logged
We are still undeveloped as long as we don´t realize, that all our science is still descriptive, and than beyond that description lies a whole new world we just haven´t even started to fully understand.

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6621
  • Pegs is clever, but tae hain’t a touch sentimental
    • outerra.com
Re: menu bar broken!
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2014, 10:31:28 am »

You seem to have copied downloaded models into the program files (install dir). Downloaded mods go to the data directory (C:\Users\Blake\Outerra\). You should move all non-outerra models from there.

Also, please apply the following patches:
Anteworld-0.8.0.4301.patch-4444.exe
Anteworld-0.8.1.4444.patch-4459.exe
Logged

bugsblake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • jedi master
Re: menu bar broken!
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2014, 11:00:24 am »

ok removed the vehicles, updated them 2 patches, deleted cfg's again and it load up now, but still cant spawn anything and after i try, it brakes the menubar again and cant exit! and thats if it dont just crash it self! will i guess its time to scrap all but my 12 gigs world files, uninstall, run ccleaner and install fresh as not of this is helping! im sure files just got corrupted and for some reason a reinstall is not fixing that? anyway should i just do that now or you wanna keep going?

new log file:

https://www.mediafire.com/?729ot2umnvpgnar
Logged
Intel 6 core i7 Xeon - 4930k @3.40 GHz
GTX 770 4GB X2 in SLI
Asus P9X79 Extreme MOBO
Patriot 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD 250GB + SATA 500GB + SATA 1TB

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6621
  • Pegs is clever, but tae hain’t a touch sentimental
    • outerra.com
Re: menu bar broken!
« Reply #11 on: March 10, 2014, 11:07:45 am »

From the crash report it seems some of the packages you imported are corrupted, and that's why the object menu produces errors. You should move the latest imported models away.

For a quick test, please rename the C:\Users\Blake\Outerra\packages folder to something else, and test if the menu opens. If it does, then some of the packages in there are corrupted by the crash, and you should find which one it is by moving them successively back.
Logged

bugsblake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • jedi master
Re: menu bar broken!
« Reply #12 on: March 10, 2014, 11:12:57 am »

ok thanks cameni! ill let you know how i get on!
Logged
Intel 6 core i7 Xeon - 4930k @3.40 GHz
GTX 770 4GB X2 in SLI
Asus P9X79 Extreme MOBO
Patriot 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD 250GB + SATA 500GB + SATA 1TB

bugsblake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • jedi master
Re: menu bar broken!
« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2014, 11:18:35 am »

ok just ran a quick test like you said and the menu works fine now and all crashing has stopped! thanks mate! will be able to find out what file/s are a problem and just remove it/them! thanks for all the help guys, so glad i dont have to start from scratch! :D
Logged
Intel 6 core i7 Xeon - 4930k @3.40 GHz
GTX 770 4GB X2 in SLI
Asus P9X79 Extreme MOBO
Patriot 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD 250GB + SATA 500GB + SATA 1TB