Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: Remove clouds?  (Read 4539 times)

carbonox infernox

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 7
  • newbie
Remove clouds?
« on: March 13, 2015, 04:48:38 am »

Is there an easy way to remove clouds? They make it difficult to land where you want to as they block terrain from 3 to 100 km.
Logged

HiFlyer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1773
  • newbie
Re: Remove clouds?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2015, 04:56:43 am »

In the "world" CFG, change clouds to "false"

Alternately, you can use ALT + the arrow keys to change the clouds to something better.
Logged
Spex: Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.6GHz / 32.0GB G.SKILL TridentZ Series Dual-Channel Ram / ASUS STRIX GeForce GTX 1080 / Sound Blaster Z / Oculus Rift VR Headset / Klipsch® Promedia 2.1 Computer Speakers / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q ‑ 27" IPS LED Monitor ‑ QHD / 2x Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB / Windows 10 Pro

ZeosPantera

  • ||>>-Z-<<||
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2518
  • #1 Outerra Fan Boy
    • My Youtube
Re: Remove clouds?
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2015, 08:14:43 am »

Man up. Difficulty landing comes with flying. There is no crying in baseball.
Logged
"Fear accompanies the possibility of death, Calm shepherds its certainty" - General Ka Dargo

carbonox infernox

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 7
  • newbie
Re: Remove clouds?
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2015, 12:52:23 am »

In the "world" CFG, change clouds to "false"

Alternately, you can use ALT + the arrow keys to change the clouds to something better.

Thanks, that first option worked!
Logged

LeeP

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • newbie
Re: Remove clouds?
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2015, 05:45:02 am »

The cloud are awesome !
 They might could make them more translucent.?
but may cause a distorted look. 
 
Logged

Jagerbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1478
Re: Remove clouds?
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2015, 02:54:38 pm »

The cloud are awesome !
 They might could make them more translucent.?
but may cause a distorted look. 
 

Yeah, I wish the clouds had less of a solid look to them, at least up close.  Clearly seeing the outlines or defined outer edges of the clouds up close is kinda odd.  I was hoping for something more foggy.  I know it's early though.
Logged
"Perhaps this speaks to some larger trend within society today...  A prevailing desire on the part of indie developers to recreate the entire world into one where you can charge more than $15 for your game design degree coursework." - Yahtzee ;) :P

HiFlyer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1773
  • newbie
Re: Remove clouds?
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2015, 04:43:06 pm »

The cloud are awesome !
 They might could make them more translucent.?
but may cause a distorted look. 
 

Yeah, I wish the clouds had less of a solid look to them, at least up close.  Clearly seeing the outlines or defined outer edges of the clouds up close is kinda odd.  I was hoping for something more foggy.  I know it's early though.

I just think "Early Alpha Clouds" when I see that, and move on.  :)
Logged
Spex: Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.6GHz / 32.0GB G.SKILL TridentZ Series Dual-Channel Ram / ASUS STRIX GeForce GTX 1080 / Sound Blaster Z / Oculus Rift VR Headset / Klipsch® Promedia 2.1 Computer Speakers / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q ‑ 27" IPS LED Monitor ‑ QHD / 2x Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB / Windows 10 Pro

LeeP

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • newbie
Re: Remove clouds?
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2015, 03:33:22 am »

Is there a way to disable cloud movement? Make them frozen?
then perhaps have a much larger coverage.

Not complaining though, don't get me wrong,
I like the cloud coverage. Very realistic.

 Hope they make it rain! That would be cool!
   
« Last Edit: March 30, 2015, 03:58:23 am by LeeP »
Logged

PytonPago

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2253
  • It´s way too complex, dont let me try to explain !
Re: Remove clouds?
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2015, 04:15:58 am »

Is there a way to disable cloud movement? Make them frozen?
then perhaps have a much larger coverage.

Not complaining though, don't get me wrong,
I like the cloud coverage. Very realistic.

 Hope they make it rain! That would be cool!
   

 just needs some time ... the actually used in the alpha are just some arlier test version, so i am sure they have something really mindblowing in store, if i remember about that video of them climbing mountains ...
Logged
We are still undeveloped as long as we don´t realize, that all our science is still descriptive, and than beyond that description lies a whole new world we just haven´t even started to fully understand.

2eyed

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • newbie
Re: Remove clouds?
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2015, 09:34:44 am »

With previous builds it was possible to set the time flow multiplier to 0 to stop cloud movement. This is seemingly not the case anymore.
Logged