Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: 2 little bugs  (Read 2176 times)

John514

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Certified TARDIS driver.
2 little bugs
« on: January 11, 2016, 05:49:23 pm »

  • I don`t seem to find a 1980x1080@60 option in the graphics menu. There are 2 instances of the 1980x1080@30 option instead!
  • If I go underwater and manage to do that glitch where you see through the ground, I can see a smaller version of the Earth in the distance! D:
Logged
You mustn't be afraid to dream a little bigger, darling

Note: I do not claim to know everything.
I just like to help people around the forum.

Uriah

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 568
  • We do these things not because they are easy. -JFK
Re: 2 little bugs
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2016, 08:13:56 pm »

Go to your user data directory, typically Windows User/YourName/Outerra, open eng.cfg in text editor:

Code: [Select]
renderer_config =  (renderer_config) {
screen_width = 1920,
screen_height = 1080,
fullscreen = true,
swap_interval = 0,
msaa = 3,
debug_mode = false,
debug_async = true,
refresh_rate = 60,
disable_composition = false

You can manually set the render configs here.

I've found the the context menu for the resolution in the Graphics settings menu seems to either not have the option (sometimes), or you can't scroll down enough in the menu to see it.

If you are ever having issues after an OT update, it is recommended you delete both eng.cfg and world.cfg and restart OT, which will generate those files from the latest default files. Sometimes an update will not update the parameters in these files and they become corrupted or incompatible with the new version.

P.S. Can you post a screenshot of the mini-Earth inside Earth? I've never heard of that before.

Regards,
Uriah
Logged

HiFlyer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1773
  • newbie
Re: 2 little bugs
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2016, 08:41:09 pm »

P.S. Can you post a screenshot of the mini-Earth inside Earth? I've never heard of that before.

Regards,
Uriah

And we shall call it....... MINI earth!! (Cue dramatic Dr Evil music)

Logged
Spex: Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.6GHz / 32.0GB G.SKILL TridentZ Series Dual-Channel Ram / ASUS STRIX GeForce GTX 1080 / Sound Blaster Z / Oculus Rift VR Headset / Klipsch® Promedia 2.1 Computer Speakers / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q ‑ 27" IPS LED Monitor ‑ QHD / 2x Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB / Windows 10 Pro

Jagerbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1476
Re: 2 little bugs
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2016, 10:43:22 pm »

You sure it's not the moon underwater?...  =D
Logged
"Perhaps this speaks to some larger trend within society today...  A prevailing desire on the part of indie developers to recreate the entire world into one where you can charge more than $15 for your game design degree coursework." - Yahtzee ;) :P

John514

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Certified TARDIS driver.
Re: 2 little bugs
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2016, 03:40:39 am »

Thanks for the fix!
Here`s the mini-Earth:

As you can see, the terrain of the normal sized earth is on the top of the screen and the mini-Earth in the distance!
Logged
You mustn't be afraid to dream a little bigger, darling

Note: I do not claim to know everything.
I just like to help people around the forum.

Uriah

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 568
  • We do these things not because they are easy. -JFK
Re: 2 little bugs
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2016, 04:05:06 am »

Jagerbomber assumed correctly, that is the moon seen through the planet. Since the earth mesh is only rendered from one side, the normal side, if you are under the surface, everything is transparent, thus, you can see the moon. It wouldn't be good for performance to render both sides of the terrain mesh.

Regards,
Uriah
Logged

John514

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Certified TARDIS driver.
Re: 2 little bugs
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2016, 04:08:01 am »

Wow, I blame me being colorblind! :P
It was only after I zoomed in I realised thats not the Earth!
Logged
You mustn't be afraid to dream a little bigger, darling

Note: I do not claim to know everything.
I just like to help people around the forum.

Uriah

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 568
  • We do these things not because they are easy. -JFK
Re: 2 little bugs
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2016, 04:14:12 am »

;)

You can also change the moon size by adding this parameter to world.cfg:

Code: [Select]
moon-scale = 4.0,
It isn't there by default, just make sure if it is the very last parameter, to add a comma to the parameter before it, like so:

Code: [Select]
cfg-version = 6226,
moon-scale = 4.0

I have it added under planet parameter, like so:

Code: [Select]
planet = "earth30",
moon-scale = 4.0,

The scale of 4.0 corrects for angular FOV, as seen from Earth.

Regards,
Uriah
« Last Edit: January 12, 2016, 04:16:38 am by Uriah »
Logged

Jagerbomber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1476
Re: 2 little bugs
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2016, 06:22:25 am »

 =D =D =D
Logged
"Perhaps this speaks to some larger trend within society today...  A prevailing desire on the part of indie developers to recreate the entire world into one where you can charge more than $15 for your game design degree coursework." - Yahtzee ;) :P