Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: engine allways on when placing airplanes in scenery  (Read 459 times)

fly77

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
engine allways on when placing airplanes in scenery
« on: May 01, 2018, 04:06:40 pm »

I am trying to place aircrafts in my scenery and everything seems fine untill I actually get inside the plane. The airplane engine appear to be switched on by default and so the plane actually bumps into the ground immediately. How can I place aircrafts with the engine switched off by default ?
Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6505
  • Pegs is clever, but tae hain’t a touch sentimental
    • outerra.com
Re: engine allways on when placing airplanes in scenery
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2018, 12:00:09 pm »

That's probably not because of the engine. When you place objects into the scenery, they are placed as static objects. When you press enter, what actually happens is that the static scenery object is hidden and the same type dynamic object is spawned in its place. You'd have to position the original static object very precisely to not jump once the physics is enabled.

We'd probably have to place the objects as dynamic ones, wait for stabilization & physics pause and only then switch them to static scenery objects.
Logged

fly77

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
Re: engine allways on when placing airplanes in scenery
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2018, 03:54:12 pm »

what about having the engine on but by default set at very low rpm ?
Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6505
  • Pegs is clever, but tae hain’t a touch sentimental
    • outerra.com
Re: engine allways on when placing airplanes in scenery
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2018, 11:37:16 am »

I think the engine should be off by default, brakes on.
But it will still jump when physics is enabled and it's not placed precisely.
Logged

fly77

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
Re: engine allways on when placing airplanes in scenery
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2018, 02:37:40 pm »

OK I'll wait till it will be possible to place planes in scenery so that they won't jump when entering.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2018, 07:42:42 am by fly77 »
Logged