Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: wireframe  (Read 3727 times)

knackered

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 26
wireframe
« on: February 26, 2012, 04:57:13 pm »

really impressed by the demo, shame the trees are still billboards, but otherwise really beautiful bit of work.
Noticed the shadow warping on the airport control tower, so you're not doing any kind of dynamic tessellation for the shadow map pass.
Once thing i'd really like is the option to toggle it into wireframe - is this possible?
thanks.
Logged

knackered

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: wireframe
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2012, 05:05:04 pm »

also, it'd be nice if you added support for some kind of smooth mouse movement mode, where you give the camera momentum - this would make it easier to judge the frame-to-frame consistency (WASD movement is very sudden, maybe you could scale it based on altitude).
Another feature that would be nice is support for the 3dconnexion space mice - perfect for navigating this kind of environment.
Obviously you'll be too busy for the foreseeable future sorting out the graphics glitches being reported here.
Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6603
  • Pegs is clever, but tae hain’t a touch sentimental
    • outerra.com
Re: wireframe
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2012, 10:47:06 am »

There is a key for the wireframe display, but it's only enabled in our internal builds. We could enable it in the public builds too, when there's a flag set in the configuration file (in order not to confuse people who would accidentally hit it).
Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6603
  • Pegs is clever, but tae hain’t a touch sentimental
    • outerra.com
Re: wireframe
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2012, 11:01:13 am »

So it looks the key is enabled - press 'n' to get wireframe overlay on the terrain.
Logged

Oldtown

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
  • newbie
Re: wireframe
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2012, 11:28:33 am »

There is a key for the wireframe display, but it's only enabled in our internal builds. We could enable it in the public builds too, when there's a flag set in the configuration file (in order not to confuse people who would accidentally hit it).

I got this "accident" and was quite impressed how many polygons are rendered in one scene ...
Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6603
  • Pegs is clever, but tae hain’t a touch sentimental
    • outerra.com
Re: wireframe
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2012, 11:41:20 am »

That's nothing. Press h when you are on the ground, and then climb up to see what insane amount of terrain is being rendered because of missing occlusion culling ::)
It makes one wonder why it runs as it does :D
Logged

Oldtown

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
  • newbie
Re: wireframe
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2012, 01:01:45 pm »

Thats really fantastic ... hopefully this "bug" doesn' put a knife in the back of the engine in a further process of programming.
Logged