Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 30

Author Topic: Importer  (Read 241684 times)

ZeosPantera

  • ||>>-Z-<<||
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2519
  • #1 Outerra Fan Boy
    • My Youtube
Re: Importer
« Reply #135 on: September 20, 2012, 01:04:08 pm »

Was wondering where you went.

I can still run it for between 30 seconds and 8 minutes at a time before my 4000 series kills itself.
Logged
"Fear accompanies the possibility of death, Calm shepherds its certainty" - General Ka Dargo

saccara18

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • newbie
Re: Importer
« Reply #136 on: September 20, 2012, 02:30:08 pm »

who has a good dds converter with link?

my dds converter make files with 0 bytes :D (by importing this = ERROR) :D
Logged

seppen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • newbie
Re: Importer
« Reply #137 on: September 20, 2012, 02:38:38 pm »

who has a good dds converter with link?

my dds converter make files with 0 bytes :D (by importing this = ERROR) :D

This works great, but remember to download/install the DLL´s too!

http://www.mnwright.btinternet.co.uk/programs/convim.htm
Logged

saccara18

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • newbie
Re: Importer
« Reply #138 on: September 20, 2012, 02:50:01 pm »

thank you, the textures are be loaded, but my house is black :D
Logged

seppen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • newbie
Re: Importer
« Reply #139 on: September 20, 2012, 03:12:03 pm »

thank you, the textures are be loaded, but my house is black :D

I had same problem with Sketchup model, changed the path/texture namesso not sure what fixed it.

Up it and I´ll have a look at it.
Logged

seppen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • newbie
Re: Importer
« Reply #140 on: September 21, 2012, 08:31:06 am »

I´m haveing some issues with errors when reimporting objects that have far less then 64 000 vertices but was more at start, the ones missing all have sub 20 000 verts  :(.

If rename the export it´s ok, but that´s a problem when aligning with main model.

Would also be nice if offending object name would be listed, the number in the error report does not relate to 3ds max name, and it would be nice if the report window could support cut/paste or wider for long path names.

Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6718
  • No sense of urgency.
    • outerra.com
Re: Importer
« Reply #141 on: September 21, 2012, 08:58:30 am »

The actual number of vertices that the importer needs to create can be higher than the number stated in a modeler, depending on whether there are multiple normals per vertex. In that case the importer has to duplicate the vertices.

The importer log will be written into a file, and I will put a button in the UI that hides low-severity messages so that it's more readable.
Logged

seppen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • newbie
Re: Importer
« Reply #142 on: September 21, 2012, 09:22:34 am »

The actual number of vertices that the importer needs to create can be higher than the number stated in a modeler, depending on whether there are multiple normals per vertex. In that case the importer has to duplicate the vertices.

The importer log will be written into a file, and I will put a button in the UI that hides low-severity messages so that it's more readable.

Thanks!, that explains it.
I can browse fine trough the log as it is, but some messages get too wide so name of offending texture etc is hidden etc.

A compact log would be great for large assemblies.
Logged

Midviki

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Nothing matters... but everything is important.
Re: Importer
« Reply #143 on: September 21, 2012, 09:25:32 am »

Did you tried to select what is written till the end of the line?  :P
Logged
ATI AMD RADEON HD 6670

seppen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • newbie
Re: Importer
« Reply #144 on: September 21, 2012, 10:19:22 am »

Did you tried to select what is written till the end of the line?  :P

I cant select anything, just middlemouse scroll, and pageup pagedown.
But most important for me is to be able to indentify error meshes when have hundreds that imported fine..
Logged

Midviki

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Nothing matters... but everything is important.
Re: Importer
« Reply #145 on: September 21, 2012, 12:57:05 pm »

I was sarcastic :). Try selecting the writing and move the mouse to the right.What you cannot see, you will see.
Logged
ATI AMD RADEON HD 6670

seppen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • newbie
Re: Importer
« Reply #146 on: September 21, 2012, 02:27:07 pm »

I was sarcastic :). Try selecting the writing and move the mouse to the right.What you cannot see, you will see.

I was once able to do so!
But the latest models are not huge in MB, or drawcalls.

It´s very clean Max stuff that importer loves if not over 64k limit he he.
I can up some to my googledrive or dropbox tomorrow if wanna have a look!

I need some alko though :), all week nothing :(
Logged

Spartan46

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Can import alot of things ;)
Re: Importer
« Reply #147 on: September 22, 2012, 10:51:02 pm »

EXCEPTION: colz::mesh::add_source@colz_mesh.cpp{306}INT is not supported for vertex data!

Its doing this when i try to import a reaper(mass effect) model
Do you know what its mean?
Logged

cameni

  • Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6718
  • No sense of urgency.
    • outerra.com
Re: Importer
« Reply #148 on: September 23, 2012, 02:55:51 am »

The model uses 32-bit index for meshes which is not supported, means that there are more than 64k vertices in the mesh and that would require 32-bit indices instead of normally used 16-bit ones. Normally game engines intentionally don't support it because it's wasteful and the solution is easy - split meshes so each has <64k vertices.
Logged

angrypig

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
Re: Importer
« Reply #149 on: September 23, 2012, 04:59:07 am »

EXCEPTION: colz::mesh::add_source@colz_mesh.cpp{306}INT is not supported for vertex data!

Its doing this when i try to import a reaper(mass effect) model
Do you know what its mean?

That error means that vertices have integer type for positions or texture coordinates or it may be a bug in importer. Can you send me the file?
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 30