Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: Question about sky banding...  (Read 5142 times)

gordo

Question about sky banding...
« on: January 28, 2013, 08:51:44 pm »

This is particularly noticeable at dawn and dusk... I'm mostly just curious why there would be sky banding at all (as shown in the screenshot below) when my video card is set to 32-bit color and I assume Outerra uses the full palette available to the system. Is there really no way to deal with this? Can some kind of random dithering be added perhaps, or is that too CPU-intensive for real-time?
--Gordo

Jagerbomber

Re: Question about sky banding...
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2013, 10:29:26 pm »

I'm not an expert, but it's also a limitation on the number of colors your display has isn't it?
"Perhaps this speaks to some larger trend within society today...  A prevailing desire on the part of indie developers to recreate the entire world into one where you can charge more than $15 for your game design degree coursework." - Yahtzee ;) :P

ZeosPantera

• ||>>-Z-<<||
  • Global Moderator
  • #1 Outerra Fan Boy
    • My Youtube
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2013, 11:27:31 pm »

I'm not an expert, but it's also a limitation on the number of colors your display has isn't it?

That would be true except we all see it and a screenshot captures it. My FW900 shows it so it exists.
"Fear accompanies the possibility of death, Calm shepherds its certainty" - General Ka Dargo

Jagerbomber

« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2013, 12:14:56 am »

It's a jpeg... That probably doesn't help either, just sayin.  And yes, I know we all see it.  Does anybody have a display with absolutely unlimited colors?  Didn't think so.

There's probably other limitations as well.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2013, 12:24:46 am by Jagerbomber »