Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: cities/road builder  (Read 6808 times)

bada

cities/road builder
« on: January 27, 2013, 08:37:24 am »

hello!

first post here so don't be harsh with me :-)

first of all, i'd like to say i'm not a programmer or not even a decent 3d modeller so there are a lot of explenations i do not understand  in several "technical" posts but anyway i'd like to ask several questions about the roads/cities modelling and other things.

-The way it is now it's rather time consumming to build cities or even small villages, especially the roads if one would like to position them on their real life position.
To make the things easier, would be there ,in the future, a possibility of applying a temperary Layer on a region, from google-earth or a real map for exemple and be able to set the roads/buildings using this temp layer as guide and all of this from "above" (90°) pitch, the small details correction on the roads or buildings would be done afterwards in close view on ground level view.
This way you could build large areas rather fast.

Surface texturing : what will be the possibility to change ground textures, as for exemple, the desert areas, can we do it manually now or is this feature blocked right now?

-Terrain corrections: exemple st-nazaire in france, it was an uboot shipyard in WW2 but with the actual terrain in OT, this can't be rebuild due to the terrain/see not beeing correct.
 will there be a tool to make manual modifications/corrections to the terrain?

thank you

cameni

• Brano Kemen
  • Outerra Administrator
  • No sense of urgency.
    • outerra.com
Re: cities/road builder
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2013, 11:25:59 am »