Outerra forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Outerra Tech Demo download. Help with graphics driver issues

Author Topic: 3ds max 2010 object splitting?  (Read 3448 times)

bugsblake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • jedi master
3ds max 2010 object splitting?
« on: June 26, 2013, 12:35:47 pm »

hi all.

i found a wicked model ment to be of paris though no tower, but a very nice model.

im trying to get it into outerra but it has over 150 meshes with a bigger vertex cound then 65.500!

now ive cut the meshes in half hoping that would be enough, took a while split all them, but still some are too big!

does anyone know of a tool in max or a plug-in that can auto split meshes? what i really want to be able to do is select all 300 odd meshes (after first split) or could use the original file of 150 meshes! but i want to select all of them at once and split them! otherwise this is gonna take days at the rate i get time to use the pc for this stuff!

so any advice would be great! till then im gonna keep going the slow way and splitting and counting! but would be nice if theres a way this can be done in seconds!

thanks

EDIT: never mind! should be able to do this with the cutter tool! ;)
« Last Edit: June 26, 2013, 01:09:58 pm by bugsblake »
Logged
Intel 6 core i7 Xeon - 4930k @3.40 GHz
GTX 770 4GB X2 in SLI
Asus P9X79 Extreme MOBO
Patriot 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD 250GB + SATA 500GB + SATA 1TB

ChookWantan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • They call me Chook.
Re: 3ds max 2010 object splitting?
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2013, 03:50:17 pm »

Please put this in engine, I want to see if Outerra handles cities larger than assassins creed...
Logged
With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams,
it is still a beautiful world.

bugsblake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • jedi master
Re: 3ds max 2010 object splitting?
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2013, 11:06:08 pm »

its in! but a few things

1: the whole city is just under 400k polys so when going down a roads and passing buildings they start to vanish as the meshes should really be broken down more, but thats not something i think im gonna do as this was just a test!

2: i cant make opacity maps in photoshop for the lamp posts as the dds exporter dont have ATI1 as an export option!  has other DXT1 formats with alpha but tried them and dont work! so unless i upload it and someone convert it or i find another tool?

3: the fact no static objects have collision yet, you cant walk on it! neither can you level the terrain under it! the nearest you could get is making roads in there places and raising them to just replace the model road! or just below, your choice!

4: if anyone wants this as an upload just ask and i'll post a link in static objects thread! the .otx files 27meg, not bad for the 80meg file with 120 textures that goes into it! :)
Logged
Intel 6 core i7 Xeon - 4930k @3.40 GHz
GTX 770 4GB X2 in SLI
Asus P9X79 Extreme MOBO
Patriot 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD 250GB + SATA 500GB + SATA 1TB

M7

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
  • newbie
Re: 3ds max 2010 object splitting?
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2013, 11:42:15 pm »

Details look pretty nice for the  file size. Street's alsphat is part of the file? or you had to build road?

I would be curious enough to import that, if you make it available.
Logged

krz9000

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: 3ds max 2010 object splitting?
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2013, 03:26:39 am »

looks like cityengine content? neat tool for generation procedural cities. i hope one day such functionality find its way into outerra. :)
Logged

PytonPago

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2253
  • It´s way too complex, dont let me try to explain !
Re: 3ds max 2010 object splitting?
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2013, 03:36:39 am »

Yes, the front building looks like from it ... would be nice to have some app for that someday ...
Logged
We are still undeveloped as long as we don´t realize, that all our science is still descriptive, and than beyond that description lies a whole new world we just haven´t even started to fully understand.

bugsblake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • jedi master
Re: 3ds max 2010 object splitting?
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2013, 06:22:10 am »

yes the street's alsphat is part of the file! though the roads could be taken out to make it easy to lay roads in their place!

this was made with City Engine 2010! and was uploaded by konstantin!

ive uploaded the otx file, will post it in static objects! if you want it without roads i'll have to do another export! but dont mind so just ask! ;)
Logged
Intel 6 core i7 Xeon - 4930k @3.40 GHz
GTX 770 4GB X2 in SLI
Asus P9X79 Extreme MOBO
Patriot 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD 250GB + SATA 500GB + SATA 1TB